Indian Parliament Attack Martyrs 18th Anniversary


No citizen of the country can forget the 13th of December in the year 2001. Because today, on December 13, eighteen years ago, Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) militants attacked Parliament and nine people were killed in this shootout.

Among the dead were five Delhi Police personnel, a woman Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) jawan, two Members of Parliament and ward staff and a gardener. Along with this, a journalist who was injured later died. However, all these five terrorists who attacked were shot dead.

In 2001, this terrorist attack lasted for about 40 minutes. When the Houses were adjourned at the time of the attack, some 100 MPs and staff were still trapped inside, but the Delhi Police and Indian Army jawans piled the attackers and rescued these MPs and staff. On the 18th anniversary of the Parliament attack, President Ram Nath Kovind, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the whole country is paying tribute to the martyrs.

On the morning of 13 December 2001, five JM and Lashkar terrorists entered the Parliament complex and opened indiscriminate fire. These terrorists had many weapons including AK-47 rifles, grenade launchers, pistols and grenades. When investigated, it is learned that these terrorists had managed to come inside by putting a fake home ministry sticker on a white ambassador car. When the security personnel questioned him, the five men started running and opened indiscriminate fire, killing nine security personnel.

The fire continued for about 30 minutes and later all five militants were killed by the security forces. Two days later, Delhi Police picked up Afzal Guru from Jammu and Kashmir. In September 2006, a Delhi court ordered the execution of Afzal Guru and on 9 February 2013, Afzal Guru was hanged in Delhi’s Tihar Jail.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here