Karnataka by-election results counted, BJP won 12 out of 15 seats


The counting of votes for the Karnataka by-election results has been completed. BJP has won 12 seats out of 15. An important election for Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa on 15 assembly seats in Karnataka was held on 5 December. The fate of the new BJP government that came to power after topping the JDS-Congress coalition government now depends on the results of the Karnataka Assembly by-election. The result of the Karnataka by-election to be announced on Monday decided the future of the BJP government. The counting of votes started at 8 am in 11 centers in Karnataka and the final result was out by noon.

The disqualification of 17 rebel Congress and JD (S) MLAs led to by-elections to fill the vacant posts, whose rebellion led to the collapse of the HD Kumaraswamy-led coalition government in July and found a way for the BJP to come to power. Of the 15 seats, 12 were occupied by Congress and three by JD (S). The by-election results, which recorded 67.91 percent turnout, are significant for the BJP, which needs to win at least six seats to remain in the majority.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here