Kashmir Crisis: Bill to bifurcate J&K passed in Rajya Sabha


The bill to reorganise Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories has been passed in the Rajya Sabha today, even several opposition parties walked out, bringing down the majority mark. The resolution was passed through a voice vote – 125 members voted in its favour and 61 voted against the bill. Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party, Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal, Jagan Reddy’s YSR Congress, N Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party and in a surprise addition — Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party sided with the government on the decision which took the to 117.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here