Lok Sabha polls, Phase 2: EVM glitches reported at booths in WB, Assam


Thirteen states and Union Territories go to polls in the ongoing Lok Sabha election’s second phase on Thursday, April 11.

Candidates in 95 constituencies will fight it out today. The result will be out on May 23. Originally, polls were to be held in 97 constituencies. But polls were differed in two — Vellore will not see polls due to corruption charges, neither will Tripura East because of security concerns.

Polling takes place in Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

Thirty eight out of 39 Lok Sabha seats and 18 Assembly seats are going to polls in Tamil Nadu.

Here are LIVE updates:

08:10 am: Tamil Nadu: CM Edappadi K Palanisamy casts his vote at a polling station in Edappadi, Selam.

08:05 am: Tamil Nadu: Makkal Needhi Maiam chief Kamal Haasan and his daughter Shruti Haasan queue up outside polling station 27 at Alwarpet Corporation School in Chennai to cast their votes.

07:45 am: West Bengal: Polling is yet to begin at booth number 29/134 at Islampur Hindi FP School of Uttar Dinajpur, in Raiganj Parliamentary constituency, as the EVM at the booth is not functioning.

07:40 am: Nalini Chidambaram, Karti Chidambaram and his wife Srinidi Rangarajan cast their vote at a polling station in Karaikudi, Sivaganga.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here